Come here often and see all the crazy things that I have been upto!

MathMineCraft

Minecraft is an amazing game, staged in a randomly generated world built utilizing 1 meter cubes. It is a type of sandbox game, in which you are free to do whatever you please. I use Minecraft to create epic feats of architecture, mostly large mansions or castles. One of my latest creations is a large, multi-floor brick mansion, with a large living room and balcony above it.

I wanted to have a curved, panoramic living room window, but because of the limitation of only square cubes, I had to improvise… somehow. I decided that the window should be parabolic, giving it an appealing and professional look. I tried building it on the spot, but couldn’t get it to look quite right… so I got an idea: Geogebra! I created a simple function based on the width and depth of the window, which ended up being:

I ended up with this graph, and placed a point on each full x integer on the parabola:

yeah, epic skills, ehh?

For each point on the graph, I placed a block that y-distance from the main wall. This made my window a perfect, uhm bumpy, parabola! Lovely perfection, with a mathematical formula behind it! Just the way I like it!

Well why don’t I show you the final product, and maybe give you the taste of playing Minecraft!

 

 

Comments on: "MathMineCraft" (13)

  1. crazyfeet_kait said:

    Wow, this is pretty neat! Might I ask why your formula is ‘f(x) = -0.5 * x(sqared) + 5’ ? I’m a bit confused on the star :p That means to multiply right?!

    Also, since you like mine craft, have you ever thought of going to school in the field of architechture? Seems like you may like it šŸ™‚

    • Yeah the * means multiplication; I agree that the numbers are a bit confusing. The +5 is the distance of the vertex from the y axis, which means that the window will be 5 “blocks” deep. The -0.05 determines the size of the “opening” of the parabola, and the negative means that the parabola will open downward. Since I wanted the window to be 20 blocks wide, the a would need to be 1/20, or 0.05 to make it so.

      • crazyfeet_kait said:

        ooh! That’s makes a lot more sense, thanks for explaining! It’s pretty clever how you combined the two of these programs together!

  2. Patrick, this is just amazing. You are the Steve Jobs in teenage form! Combining technology, math, and art, then sharing it with the world! Thanks so much!

    • Ohh my… I completely agree with you! I’m glad you said that, as he really was a passionate person whom I admire greatly. I am currently reading a biography about him; He was truly an amazing artist, designer, and perfectionist, of which the last I am proud to be. Thank you for such a great compliment! šŸ˜‰

  3. Mrs. Conrod said:

    Love the work-around and your use of Geogebra, Patrick! Bumpy parabola šŸ™‚ My son has Minecraft on his IPod Touch – I may have to try it while he is at school.

    Mrs. Conrod

    • Thanks ;). Yeah I use Geogebra for everything, its too awesome! I have Minecraft on my iPod Touch as well, I really enjoy it! You should try it too!

  4. nice house dude very cool how u applied geogebra to help you build your house. one question is that a school you are building because it looks kinda like one

  5. Good job, I’m not a minecraft fan, but I find your technique for doing your monuments is great. Personally, I would never be able to do such a thing! Anyways, don’t know if you planned on being an architect, but you would be really good at it! keep it up!

    • don’t know why it’s not showing my name, but it’s Brandon C

    • Thanks Brandon, I always try to have a purpose behind whatever aspects of design I apply to a construction; I don’t put anything in as random. I would love to be an architect actually, but I don’t know if I’d have the design skills to do so.

  6. Melissa T said:

    I’ve heard about Minecraft, but never really got around to actually take the time and play aha. Honestly, i think its really interesting how you were able to build all this with the help of math… just goes to show how math will be the key to everything later in life ahah.

Leave a Reply

